More on Trauma Sensitive Yoga

yoga-1240391

Tonight marked the third of my trauma sensitive yoga classes and I saw improvement in myself! For one I was able to breathe deeper than before and regulate it better. Second, I was able to get into positions I’d not been able to before. This is all very exciting!

There are some positions that make me feel too vulnerable and remind me of abuse, so I struggle with them. But tonight I was able to get into some of these positions. I also worked my hips a bit, and boy did that hurt! Again though, I did it.

Granted, I did do as D suggested and picture him there with me (blush), and that’s partly what made these positions easier tonight. I feel safer with him present. But he wasn’t physically there, so that isn’t the only reason I opened up. I pushed myself to be more vulnerable and trust the situation. The people involved too.

This is a huge step for me.

This was also the first time I didn’t feel completely out of it when I left. I felt much more grounded. I suspect it’s due to the fact that I did open up more. As well as my extreme focus on my breath.

So far I would recommend this class for anyone with trauma, PTSD, or issues like social anxiety. It’s such a peaceful environment and I’m never pushed to do more than I feel comfortable or safe doing in that moment. The lack of pressure in contrast to other yoga classes I’ve been to is making the difference.

While it’s a short update, I wanted to share. 🙂 My body and mind are feeling great tonight!

(Photo by Aaron Neifer at freeimages.com.)

About authorsienna

Author * Speaker * Blogger on sex, erotica, LGBTQ, BDSM, Dominance, submission, consent, and polyamory. Authors tales of dark desires and hidden fantasies.
This entry was posted in My Journey, PTSD and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More on Trauma Sensitive Yoga

  1. So happy for you! This is great feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience here. May it help others.

    Like

Comments are closed.