Girl Boner – Beauty in Sexuality #BOAW2017

screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-12-35-28-am

Last night, I watched a woman embrace her innermost desires and take ownership of her sexuality. I’m fortunate to have seen such a thing and experienced it myself. Most people never get to witness a sexual awakening and some never even experience one for themselves. It’s sad. No, tragic.

It’s impossible to be present and joyful when we are in denial of who we are.

When I was told that my own awakenings–because I’ve had more than one–were beautiful, I didn’t really know what people meant. They told me my appearance even changed. That I sat up straighter and looked softer, radiant.

The awakening I witnessed last night was the same. At first, she was stiff. Hard almost. Slowly, she opened herself up. Admitted things about herself and her sexuality that she’d been in denial about. And the more she came clean and accepted herself, the softer she became. The more she glowed.

It was beautiful.

It’s no secret why more people don’t own who they are. We are so insistent on shaming one another that too many of us never accept and embrace ourselves. Instead, we hide away and feel shame even over our most delicious fantasies.

We can blame religion. We can blame culture. We can blame sexism and misogyny. We can blame our own insecurities. But at the end of the day, there’s no denying that owning and embracing our sexuality holds a massive amount of power.

As a society, we don’t understand power.

Power scares us. Though mostly when it comes to our own. And in a male-dominated society, powerful women are terrifying. But we must own who we are. We can’t let society tell us we are shameful for embracing our most beautiful and genuine part of us.

Our sexuality is divine. It’s our source of raw, powerful, creation. It’s beautiful because it’s pure. Primal. 

Opening myself fully feels like igniting a fire in me. A fire that burns so hot, darkness cannot penetrate it. 

For the week of #BOAW2017, I plan to focus my writing on the beauty of owning our sexuality. On seeing the beauty in others when they own theirs. And on encouraging others to work toward being honest, owning who they are, and shining their gorgeous light into the world.

Owning our sexuality means we get to walk around full of joy. We get to be the match lighting up the darkest of rooms. We get to be powerful by being vulnerable.

This post is part of the Beauty of a Woman BlogFest VI! To read more entries, and potentially win a fun prize, visit the fest page on August’s McLaughlin’s site between today and 11pm PST March 11th.

About authorsienna

Author * Speaker * Blogger on sex, erotica, LGBTQ, BDSM, Dominance, submission, consent, and polyamory. Authors tales of dark desires and hidden fantasies.
This entry was posted in My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Girl Boner – Beauty in Sexuality #BOAW2017

  1. Pingback: The Beauty of a Woman BlogFest VI! - Girl Boner®

  2. toraprincess says:

    I really enjoyed this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bodyworkspt says:

    “Our sexuality is divine.” YES! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shanjeniah says:

    So much deliciousness here, and so much depth to be pondered!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful piece! Being true to ourselves is so crucial to our happiness…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I love this — especially this: “Our sexuality is divine. It’s our source of raw, powerful, creation. It’s beautiful because it’s pure. Primal.”

    Amen! Thanks so much for participating in the fest. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was married to a prude guy for 20 years. It was a disaster. Ovfer the years, I completely lost myself. Now that I’m divorced, I’m waking up again, and I feel so grateful for this opportunity to feel pleasure again. Thank you for sharing. Bop on over to my place to read about my va-jay-jay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You’re right. There’s something both Primal and Divine about owning and accepting your sexuality. Enjoyed your share. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pam Costa says:

    Yes, connecting to our sexuality is POWERFUL. I spent decades walking around being afraid of that power, and after getting connected to my sexuality am not in awe of the energy and joy it brings me, and how much control I have over it’s power. Great stuff. Thanks for this piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This right here… ““Our sexuality is divine. It’s our source of raw, powerful, creation. It’s beautiful because it’s pure. Primal. ”

    I agree with every word. When we give ourselves permission to embrace our essence, which includes our sexuality, we return to wholeness. And just as the word implies, wholeness is the sum of all of our parts.

    Thank you for sharing this deliciously expansive post. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.